Compare FutureSoft vs Pelican NS3

SpringWell FutureSoft vs Pelican NS3 Two TAC Conditioners

Both are template-assisted crystallization units rated to 75 gpg. Neither lists a scale-reduction certification. Pelican has an NSF/ANSI 61 materials certificate; SpringWell names none.

Certification listings and maker documents checked October 22, 2026.

Where to buy · FutureSoft: $2,320.50 (store price; size not stated) on the seller's site, checked Oct 22, 2026. No retailer link yet.

Where to buy · Pelican NS3: price not yet verified; sold through retailers. No retailer link yet.

Short answer: For wider pH or a big-brand dealer network, the Pelican NS3 (pH 7–11). For more flow and chlorinated city water, the FutureSoft (12 gpm FS1, chlorine to 3 ppm). Neither softens water.

Certification Side by Side

FutureSoftPelican NS3
StatusNo listing foundMaterials only
Certifier and standard–IAPMO R&T
NSF/ANSI 61
Certified flownot certifiednot certified

Specs Side by Side

FutureSoftPelican NS3
Service flow (maker)12 gpm (FS1), 15 (FS4), 20 (FS+) source10 gpm (NS3); 15 gpm (NS6) source
Scale claim"Prevents up to 95% of scale buildup" sourcenot yet verified
Max hardness75 gpg source75 gpg source
IronIron, manganese, copper, oil and H₂S: must be 0 sourcenot yet verified
Pressure20–80 psi source25–80 psi source
Rated lifeMedia 5+ years; 5-micron sediment pre-filter sourcenot yet verified
Price$2,320.50 (store price; size not stated) sourcenot yet verified

Where They Differ

Flow. FutureSoft: 12, 15 and 20 gpm by size. NS3: 10 gpm (15 for the NS6).

pH. 7.0–9.5 (FutureSoft) vs 7–11 (Pelican).

Pre-treatment. Both need iron, manganese and sulfur removed first. SpringWell says those must be zero; Pentair also caps phosphates and copper.

What’s certified. Pelican: NSF/ANSI 61, materials only. Pentair’s posted certificate is marked valid to February 2024. SpringWell: none named.

Common Questions

Do they remove hardness?

No. TAC converts hardness into crystals that are less likely to stick. Your water still tests hard (UNL G2275).

What about the 99.6% figures?

A Pelican dealer cites DVGW test DW-9191 at 99.6%; Pentair’s current manual doesn’t mention it. SpringWell’s own page now says “up to 95%”, though some review sites still quote 99.6%.

Full sheets: FutureSoft · Pelican NS3. Or size your own in the calculator.